Karpatská 5,
040 01 Košice
tel./fax: 055 625 58 56,
tel.: 055 625 58 63, 055 625 19 93

You are on » SUBMENU » What is the European Social Survey (ESS)? » Organizational structure

Organizational structure

A. Central Coordinating Team - CCT:

Consists of representatives of 5 institutions responsible for ESS Project since its beginning:

Scientific instutuon in CCT is:
Centre for Comparative Social Surveys, City University London, UK 
Roger Jowell, main coordinator untill his death in December 2011.   Rory Fitzgerald is currently the main coordinator. Central coordination team consists of following members:

  • Rory Fitzgerald 
  • Lorna Ryan 
  • Eric Harrison 
  • Sally Widdop 
  • Ana Villar 
  • Lizzy Gatrell 
  • Mary Keane 

Partner institutions in CCT are:

B. Scientific Advisory Board - SAB

Chairman of international scientific board is professor Max Kaase from  International University, Bremen. Each participating country has its representatives in SAB.

C. Methods Group

Provides consulting in methodological and technical questions when conducting project. It consists of following members: 

D. Sampling Panel

Team of specialists providing consulting to national teams for questions about sampling. Team also participates in evaluation of appropriateness of processes chosen by national coordinators. It consists of following members:

Individual and Society – Online Journal


Volume 20, Year 2017, Issue 4

  • Introducing the Euro in Estonia and Slovakia: Did it affect people’s satisfaction?
  • Factors of Political Interest – the Internal and External Political Efficacy in Different Regions of Europe

Volume 20, Year 2017, Issue 3

  • Latent versus Open Perception of Globalization as a Cultural Threat: Experimental Study from Slovakia
  • Individual and psychosocial factors of mental health indicators among Slovak university students